Life Lately

A glimpse of my weekend, plans for today and goals for the upcoming week to keep you updated on my life as of late.

READING
Recently, I have made it the habit to read two books at once, a physical book to read before bed or by the pool and an audiobook to listen to on the way to work or on a run. Always the fan of Irish literature, I’m currently reading ‘Tis by Frank McCourt. For my commutes I’m listening to The Aviator’s Wife by Melanie Benjamin and relating to Ann Lindbergh’s life as a pilot wife. I would also like to share that Gerred is on the third Series of Unfortunate Events book after I learned he had never read them and insisted he open up the first book. He’s hopelessly hooked.

INTERVIEWING
Today I’m dressing up and interviewing for a job that’s right up my alley. Fingers crossed things go well.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

EXERCISING
I ran the Hot Chocolate 15K on Sunday and am now beginning training for my first half marathon in May. Not only am I running, but I’m coaching young girls to run and be their best selves with Girls on the Run. This week I want to work on cross training and going to classes along with my runs.

WATCHING
Just finished this last season of House of Cards and per usual I was blown away by the entire thing. The scenes of Maryland had me missing home and Kevin Spacey’s accent was incredibly addictive. It should be bottled so that I might drink it up. I’m assuming it would taste like Bourbon. Now that this is over, I’m beginning the series, Fresh Meat.

WORKING
I’m hard at work brainstorming and writing articles for Vows & Valor as well as teaching history onboard tall ships at the Maritime Museum of San Diego. I’ve also managed to tie in my rope skills into both jobs.

INVESTED IN
I have a great love for Shakespeare’s works and an even greater admiration for the Smithsonian documentary, Secrets: Richard III Revealed, about the 2012 discovery of the remains of King Richard III beneath a car park in Leicester. After determining the skeleton is, in fact, King Richard III, the University of Leicester has organized the reburial of Richard III at the Leicester Cathedral.

MISSED IT? CATCH UP
I opened up about skin cancer and sun safety, ran a 10K in LA, shared our wedding video, as well as 15 delicious recipes I found, and challenged myself to read 50 books in 2015.

Leave a Reply

