Lorna Jane

One day while walking down Girard Street in La Jolla, I passed by a fitness store I’d never heard of before, Lorna Jane. Naturally, I peeked inside and saw an abundance of bold bright colors and styles. While looking around in awe, I began to chat with a sales associate about the brand. I kept asking, “Why have I never heard of this?”

Lorna Jane is an Australian brand with only a few U.S. locations. So I would have never seen it on the East Coast. It was started in 1989 by Lorna Jane Clarkson as a way of promoting an active living lifestyle through fitness clothing and the philosophy to move, nourish, and believe. The philosophy carries onto movenourishbelieve.com with daily doses of inspiration in exercises, recipes, and positive thinking.

Finding this store is exactly what I needed when I moved here. I quickly learned that the store in La Jolla offered free fitness classes and I began to attend them weekly. Each class motivated me and made me feel good about the work I was doing to better myself.

After becoming a class regular I discovered that Lorna Jane Clarkson would be visiting the States. When I approached Gerred he said we could visit her in Huntington Beach on the way to pick up our race packets for the LA Firecracker 10K. I was so excited to meet her in person. I didn’t know what to do.

While I was in line holding her Nourish cookbook, I could see she was only feet away. I took a deep breath and went up to shake her hand. I told her how thankful I was for the positivity of her brand. She joked around and we took a photo. I could not have been happier. Learning about the philosophy of move, nourish, believe and meeting Lorna Jane Clarkson really cemented a drive within me to continue to strive to be healthy and positive.

One thought on “Lorna Jane

Leave a Reply

