Girls on the Run

Running is how I map San Diego in my head. I trace long trails along carved coastal bluffs, through forests, parks, around sweeping ocean views, up sandy hills, and down the sidewalk of my neighborhood. My soles have met San Diego, but I had still yet to do so. I felt it was time to finally meet people and get involved in my community. So I decided to volunteer for Girls on the Run.

I had heard of Girls on the Run when I signed up for the San Diego Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon. There was an option to become a Girls on the Run Sole Mate to fundraise for the program along with the run. When it came time to decide what I wanted to volunteer for I pulled out Girls on the Run from the back of my mind. I love running and I work well with kids, so why not?

I applied with only weeks before the first day of practice and got placed as head coach at a nearby elementary school. I was excited and nervous. I had never been a head coach before. I had served as an assistant volleyball coach in high school, so this was a big leap.

The girls I coach are bright, bubbly, funny, active girls that truly want to be at practice. They love working together, making up energy awards about rainbows and unicorns, and have so much to say. One of my girls has even dubbed Girls on the Run, “Females of the Fast Moving Motion.”

The assistant coaches I work with are the sweetest women I’ve ever met. They’re a great group to work with and make me feel comfortable and confident with the kids. Without their support I don’t know what I would do. All 5 of them excel at coaching and work so well with the kids. Working with these women is such a positive in my life and it’s great to have a bunch of ladies who love running just as much as I do.

Not only have I volunteered as head coach, but as a member of the marketing committee as well. We meet monthly and discuss merchandising and all aspects of social media. Needless to say I volunteered to write for them. So be sure to look out for future blog posts over on the Girls on the Run San Diego blog from me!

I’m excited for the rest of the season with the entire team of girls and coaches. The girls have so much potential and I cannot wait for them to cross the finish line at the 5K in May! Watch out world because these girls are one in a million.

Posted in: Run

One thought on “Girls on the Run

  1. Catherine Olona says:

    Wow. You are amazing, there was a plan for you…… Those girls will love the motivation and self-esteem. We are rooting for you. Loves. Tia cath

    >

Leave a Reply

