Sweet Potato and Zucchini Egg White Mini Frittatas

ingredientseggwhitefrittatas

The first frittata I tried was my college roommate’s. She picked up the recipe during her semester in Spain and was mad at work cooking the cheese, egg, and potato together. I took a bite. The mixture was hearty, cheesy, and I was hooked.

sweetpotatoes

Recently, I’ve been attempting to make healthy and meal prep friendly foods. I’ve cooked batches of chicken meatballs and turkey meatballs to pack for lunch. When I decided to look for a simple and meatless lunch option, I turned to the frittata. I learned that with a muffin tin I could cook a bunch of mini frittatas.

eggwhitefrittatasintin

These frittatas are both healthy and full of flavor. I substituted egg whites for eggs and added my favorite vegetables, sweet potatoes and zucchini.

bakedeggwhitefrittatas

Sweet Potato and Zucchini Egg White Mini Frittatas

Ingredients

1 medium sweet potato, cubed
1 cup zucchini, chopped
⅓ cup red onion, diced
10 egg whites (I used 16oz of Egg Beaters Egg Whites)
¼ cup feta cheese, crumbled
1 sprig fresh rosemary
Coconut oil spray

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. Cube sweet potato and place on a parchment-lined baking tray. Spray with coconut oil and roast for 30 minutes or until lightly brown.
  3. Spray pan with coconut oil. Cook red onion on stovetop, stirring for 3 minutes. Add zucchini and cook vegetables for 10 minutes until softened.
  4. Remove sweet potatoes from oven and combine with onion and zucchini. Equally distribute vegetables into coconut oil greased muffin tin. Pour egg whites over the vegetables. Top with feta and rosemary. Bake for 20 minutes.

frittatasinlunch

These are perfect for a packed lunch. I suggest packing two mini frittatas, carrots, and fruit. Yum!

Posted in: Eat

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato and Zucchini Egg White Mini Frittatas

  1. enoch34711@gmail.com says:

    Good morning. I am totally enjoying your blog. You remind me of a younger me…. Eating healthy, running, reading. I can not get enough. I wanted to share my thoughts , if it helps your eating plan. Water water water. I do 80 oz a day. In the morning up til 10am i do fruits only and 32 oz of water. , you gotta get hydrated after not eating during the night. ( I try to never have fruit and greens at the same meal, learned this when I took clases for being a dietician …. They have to different properties and do not agree with stomach acids. Lunch : fresh spinach and hummus roll ups. Bean -veg- quinoa noodles. Or make it a soup is a protein pack lunch. Broccoli and green peas to munch on. Dinner: 3 oz steak and tons more of greens. Only bread I eat is mini pita and tortillas. Never sandwich bread. Who know what the are putting in that. If I gotta have a sweet. Dried coconut , dried peaches. 80 %cocoa dark chocolate. And I can not give up my coffee Snack; Bowl of multiple grain Cheerios I add granola with almond milk. Continue loving San Diego and the sunshine. Love to you and Gerred. Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

