Eating Rome: Living the Good Life in the Eternal City

I want Elizabeth Minchilli’s life. This woman spent two years of her childhood in Italy, then returned again to research Art History for her masters, and then finally settled down in Rome with her Italian husband. She’s now blogging at Elizabeth Minchelli in Rome and writing about Italian food for a living, which seriously is a dream come true and I want to learn everything I can from her new book, Eating Rome: Living the Good Life in the Eternal City.

Eating in Rome is part cookbook, part travel guide. Minchelli guides the reader through the streets and dishes of Rome in each chapter. She shares the history of open-air markets and how to navigate them. Simply asking market vendors, “Come se fa?” (How do you do it?), you may just learn a new recipe. She breaks down the rules of Italian coffee, fawns over fried artichokes, and warns all tourists to stay away from monuments when chowing down on lunch.

Minchilili is an inquisitive writer who values scholarly reasoning, history, and the language behind each recipe. You learn more than the how-to with Minchelli’s recipes, but the when, where, and most importantly why. When I closed the book I felt the need the cook and the need to travel all throughout Italy. I may or may not already be looking up tickets as I write this.

I set to work, cooking the recipes that caught my eye in Eating in Rome, concia di zucchine, swiss chard gnudi, and Gabriele Bonci’s pizza. Since I live in the states, my ability to retrieve some of the Italian specific ingredients were difficult, but I made my own adjustments and they turned out just fine.

My favorite recipe was the swiss chard gnudi since I learned a completely new skill of crafting the gnudi mixture into small balls, tossing them into a pot, and waiting for them to float to the top.

IMG_8199

IMG_8202

IMG_8231

For  Minchelli’s delicious Italian recipes and travel advice read Eating Rome: Living the Good Life in the Eternal City.

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

One thought on “Eating Rome: Living the Good Life in the Eternal City

Leave a Reply

