Motivation Stars

I try to wake up at 6am to run before work, I prepare healthy meals for the week in advance, and I do something active over the weekend like a hike or long run. Without motivation, I would not be able to do any of this. That’s why I have set aside a corner of my apartment (the coat closet to be exact) devoted towards motivating me towards my fitness and health goals.IMG_8316

The door is complete with running bibs, motivational sayings found on pinterest, and my own motivational star system. I designed the star system to reward positive healthy behaviors instead of simply pounds lost.

To begin with, a star is added to my sheet (or calendar) every time I complete a task. Stars are broken down into the following 5 colored categories:

STARS_Shenanigansrose

Once I reach 100 stars I’m allowed rewards that actively relate to my fitness goals. I recently reached 100 stars last week and don’t know what to choose from the following: new workout clothes, a Nike+ GPS watch, a class-pass or pure barre membership, hiking gear, surf lessons, a bike, more SCUBA qualifications, or running gear. Gerred has his own rewards list he’s working towards as well.

IMG_8327

The stars keep me motivated and inspire me to get out there every single day. After Gerred and I are done with a run, we rush to the door and add our little star stickers to our name. It takes me back to grade school in a way and I love it.

What do you do to keep motivated? And let me know what you would choose for your 100 star reward in the comments below.

One thought on “Motivation Stars

Leave a Reply

